Holiday Specials

The Movies & The Music


Our new special, "The Movies & The Music: A history of Oscar-winning film music," is a three-part, three-hour series featuring the greatest Oscar-winning scores - from the first statuette in 1934 to the present day. Available now through March 1, "The Movies & The Music" offers audiences musical history and context before the red carpet rolls out for The Academy Awards on February 26.

Host Lynne Warfel presents an overview of the winners by decade, starting with Part One – the 1930s through 1950s, from "Korngold" to "Ben-Hur". Part Two highlights the 1960s through the 1980s, when radical social change and a generational shift influenced filmmaking along with a new generation of composers. Part Three features film scores from the 90s to today. 


Lynne Warfel

Lynne Warfel started a career in radio in 1984 at L.A.'s venerable commercial classical station, KFAC, and also worked at KUSC. She then lived in Edinburgh, Scotland for five years, working in a classic rock format at Radio Forth before returning to the U.S. and joining Minnesota Public Radio in 1993. Lynne trained as an actor, graduating from Northwestern University and also trained at Second City Workshop. She's a 35-year member of Actor's Equity and Screen Actors' Guild. She has a Masters in Theology from Fuller Seminary in Pasadena, CA. Lynne's interests and passions include: laughing, dog rescue, her Collies and Gordon Setters, her Lipizzan horse, and her two extremely funny, smart and sweet sons, Peter and Josh.


"The Movies & The Music" offers approximately 45 minutes of music, with approximately 15 minutes of commentary.

ContentDepot File Transfer

Preview audio, program and promo spots available now:



Through March 1, with multiple airings permitted.

broadcast rights

Affiliate stations may carry this program multiple times before March 1. The program must be carried in its entirety. No excerpting is permitted. Simulcast streaming rights are available for this program. Prior to carrying this program, stations must contact their American Public Media Station Relations Representative.